November 12, 2010

The world is (literally) going to the dogs…

Posted in current events, fundraising at 1:34 pm by Jennifer

I usually only post once a week, but after seeing this recent article in the Globe “There are children starving in Africa – but I’ll still spoil my dog “ a week after THIS article I had to comment on it. That comment is;

… seriously?!

I love my dog. I spoil my dog for quite a few reasons; he had a hard life before I rescued him and deserves extra love, I’m an animal lover, he’s a good roommate and also because look at that freaking face!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Look, I understand pampering your pet but instead of extravagances that (let’s face it) your companion won’t really know the difference (my dog tries to eat discarded food off the sidewalk, there is no way I’m giving him a bag of $50 dog treats!) I’m hoping some people will realize there are animal shelters in dire need and spend a bit of money where it will make a difference.

SO – for the first 5 people (that live in Ontario – sorry) who email me proof/a receipt that you have donated ($25 minimum) to an animal shelter or animal based charity in the GTA/Ontario (such as the Toronto Humane Society) I will bake you, pack up and mail you a batch of homemade dog cookies personally made by yours truly. Your dog will like them; I’ve tested many recipes on my slightly “rotund” pug. Also donations are usually tax deductable.

And oh yes, the fact that you will be doing a good thing. That’s always a great reason.

UPDATE: Thank you thank you for participating! I’ll be mailing out cookies soon, so keep an eye on your mailbox.

3 Comments »

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kyle M. Cowan, Jennifer Ouellette. Jennifer Ouellette said: Animal lovers of Ontario, have I got a proposition for you http://bit.ly/aVjSXt #pets #dogs […]

  2. Jennifer B said,

    I donated to the WWF because there are too many animals out there that aren’t being cared for, while a limited, spoiled few are living in the lap of luxury (I am not exaggerating when I saw a woman walk out of Tiffany’s having purchased an item for her dog). Please give frequently and generously to animal charities!


Leave a Reply

