July 22, 2010

An Open Letter to 5am

Posted in Just for fun, Work-Life at 1:42 pm by Jennifer

Dear 5am,

I felt that I needed to sit down and write you a letter, because while we may have had our differences in the past I think it’s important that we learn to get along. After all, because of my career choice we are bound to be working together from time to time.

We’ve had some good times 5am. On more than one occasion in my student days I’ve stayed up late with you, but if I’m honest, I don’t really feel like waking up with you. That may seem a bit like a double standard, but it’s the truth. You could say I’ve outgrown wanting “that kind” of a relationship with you. It’s not that I’m ashamed to be seen with you, it’s just that you look and feel a lot different in the harsh early morning light and it generally doesn’t work for me.

I wanted to apologize for the things I’ve said to you in the past. I know that I said I would never see you again that one early morning where you had me feeling disoriented and I almost broke my foot against the door frame. That language was very unladylike, and I’m sorry. I’ll try not to let it happen again.

I think it’s important 5am that we see other people. You’ll need to be understanding. After all, 7am is my best friend and I love to spend the occasional Saturday or Sunday with whatever hour I want. But that doesn’t mean we won’t still see each other once in a while. It just means it might not be very often.

 Take care of yourself, and I’ll see you around.

(Although not too soon I hope.)

Your acquaintance,

Jennifer Ouellette

4 Comments »

  1. I’m sure 5 AM will understand… 😉 As unforgiving as it can be, moving on is the right thing to do 🙂

    • That’s true. Honesty IS the best policy for these sorts of things… 😉
      (This week has been hectic, incredible, exhausting and many more adjectives I can’t think of right now.)

  2. Varun said,

    Woah! I just kept wondering at the wit and grinning foolishly at the same time. ‘We should see other people’ bit made me chuckle.

    Thanks for the post, actually. Was pretty bored with Development Economics. (Exam tomorrow :|)

    • Thanks Varun – sleep deprivation can sometimes result in dry wit. (It’s a little known side effect.) Good luck on your exam tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

