March 10, 2010

Easy Reading is Damn Hard Writing*

Posted in Uncategorized tagged at 9:46 pm by Jennifer

I have been procrastinating leaving my old PublicRelationsMusings blog on Blogger for quite some time now, and bit by bit I made the transition. But instead of importing my old posts, I would rather just start fresh since I want to take a bit of a new direction.

A bit about me, I’m a young female blogger who works in Public Relations. Currently I’m an Account Coordinator with Thornley Fallis, and love the work I do. I also contribute on our company’s blog PR Girlz. I have a pug named Rambo, who is a rescue from a shelter in Quebec. I love to cook when I find the time, music, photography, wine, fashion and socializing.

I really wanted to start this blog to share tips, opinions and industry news that catches my attention but I also wanted to explore how I fit working in PR (a demanding job to anyone who is in the field) into my everyday life.

I find that being a female working in this industry (or any industry really) comes with its own set of challenges. How do you maintain a balance with work/life – making time for friends, or a relationship? How do you find time to cook and eat healthy/sometimes eat at all? What lessons can we learn from PR and apply to our own lives, as well as our careers?

I originally wanted to start my re-launched blog URL under my name, but then thought – why not be creative? I really want to embrace the spirit of working in a professional field, but also being a Generation Y girl who is plugged into social media and loves to blog.

So, what do I do?

I get asked what public relations is all the time by family and friends. I don’t really know if there is one perfect definition (feel free to correct me if you have one) but I work for a PR agency, which means we have a number of clients in various areas. I do and have worked on accounts in healthcare, consumer, not for profit, travel, lifestyle, food and beverage, insurance and many things in between. That’s what I love about working in an agency; every day is a little bit different than the last! It’s exciting, it’s hectic, it’s challenging – it keeps me on my toes every day.

I get to attend some pretty fun networking and client events, but really, we spend a lot of time in the office doing hours upon hours of research, writing, liaising with media and getting all the pieces in order before any event or information is released. Although Sex and the City is one of my favorite shows, this is definitely not Samantha Jones territory!

I suppose that’s a good enough start! Feel free to send me mail, leave comments, questions and link to your blog.

– BB

* Nathaniel Hawthorne, who wrote The Scarlet Letter and is a generally quotable guy.

2 Comments »

  1. Kerri Birtch said,

    Hey Jen,

    Good for you on re-launching! I know that feeling of wanting to start fresh but feeling somewhat stuck in the topic/blog you already started. It’s tough to make the jump but it looks great so far.

    Looking forward to your posts. Someday soon I’ll have a few new ones of my own 😉

    -Kerri

  2. Thanks Kerri! It’s only fitting that the person who got me into blogging on PRGirlz is the first comment on the new blog. 😉

    Sometimes we just need a push in a new direction!


Leave a Reply

